Structure and bodies

The Foundation

Menschen für Menschen is politically and denominationally neutral and economically independent. We have independent subsidiaries in Germany, Austria and Belgium. The country organizations raise funds independently of one another and carry out information and public relations work in their own country. Funds from all three countries flow into the project work in Ethiopia, which is conducted under the sole auspices of the German Foundation. The central Project Coordination office (PCO) in Addis Ababa is responsible for the implementation and supervision of all projects in the project regions. In formal terms the Ethiopian organization is a permanent business establishment of the German Foundation.

The head office of the German Menschen für Menschen Foundation is located in Munich. A total of 29 employees work here in the Executive Board, Fundraising & Communications, Development cooperation, Purchasing and Logistics, Donor Support, Finances and IT. In Ethiopia we have a workforce of 744, of which only five do not originate in the country itself.

In Germany about 500 voluntary workers additionally support our activities in various cities. This has proved to be the most effective way of achieving maximum aid for the people of Ethiopia with the lowest possible costs for administration and fundraising.

Development agent Habtamu Bacha in the village of Hudad, Asagirt project area, engaged in his daily work with the farmers.

Bodies and persons

The Executive Board

The Executive Board of Menschen für Menschen

Executive Directors Dr Sebastian Brandis, Dr Martin Hintermayer and Peter Renner (from left to right)

The Executive Board conducts business, manages the Foundation’s assets and ensures that the latter’s tasks are performed as efficiently as possible. The Executive Board consists of three members, appointed by the Supervisory Board. New members are elected by the Executive Board (co-optation). Their appointment requires the consent of the Supervisory Board. The Foundation points out that the law firm of one of the board members of the Menschen für Menschen Foundation advises in legal matters; this business relationship was examined by the Supervisory Board as the supervisory body and expressly sanctioned.

Members of the Executive Board:
Dr Martin Hintermayer, Peter Renner, Dr Sebastian Brandis.
Dr Sebastian Brandis and Peter Renner are full-time. Dr Martin Hintermayer is a part-time board member.

The Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board ensures that the Foundation acts according to the will of the founder and advises the Executive Board in all fundamental matters. It consists of six members. The members of the Supervisory Board serve in an honorary capacity.

Members of the Supervisory Board:
Christian Ude (Vorsitzender), Dr. Hans Peter Lankes (stellvertretender Vorsitzender), Dr. Annette Bhagwati, Heide Dorfmüller, Dr. Peter Hanser-Strecker und Dietmar Krieger.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees was set up by the Supervisory Board. It advises the Executive Board and Supervisory Board in fundamental matters concerning the purpose of the foundation. It also establishes contacts and solicits donations and bequests. The Board of Trustees consists of eight members, each of them appointed by the Supervisory Board for a five year term. The members of the Board of Trustees serve in an honorary capacity.

Members of the Board of Trustees:
Ralf Bos, Prof. Dr Geza Csomos, Dr Roland Folz, Erich Jeske, Sara Nuru, Isolde Reiher, Vera Reuter, Harald Spiegel,Helga Weygandt, Prof. Dr. h.c. Eckart Witzigmann

Data Protection Supervisor

The data protection supervisor advises the Foundation and its full-time and voluntary employees on data protection issues. A focus is placed on the manner in which personal data is handled. For his work the data protection supervisor receives a small monthly remuneration.

Data Protection Supervisor:
Erich Bayerl

Transparency Panel

The Transparency Panel advises the Executive Board and Supervisory Board on transparency and control issues. The majority of its members are external.

Members of the Transparency Panel:
Dr Roland Folz, Wolfgang Bosbach, Dr Claas Dieter Knoop, Markus Schächter